Why Ditching My TV Was the Best Thing For My Family

In the “hurry up and buy” world we live in today, it’s so challenging to pull yourself away from all the distractions we are surrounded by daily. Before becoming a mama, I stressed about the things I didn’t have and constantly compared my life to others. When my LO entered my life, things drastically changed.

I no longer cared about what I didn’t have because I realized that I had everything I needed. When I really looked at my life, I was beyond blessed. This viewpoint humbled me and what my husband and I did next may shock you.

So there we were, slouched on the sofa flipping through channels on our television. We didn’t have cable so there really wasn’t many options to choose from. As we searched for a suitable program to watch we realized that there was so much negativity spread on majority of the channels.

Not gonna lie, we were addicted to shows like ‘Criminal Minds’ and ‘The Following’ but all of a sudden these shows didn’t seem to bring about happy thoughts. We found ourselves creating weird and obscene scenarios in our minds, having nightmares and 95% of our conversation were about murders, poverty war and sickness.

Our TV was becoming our life. We didn’t realize that we were downloading all that negativity from the shows we watched and how it affected us in our daily activities. Turning on the TV had become a habit; whether we watched it or not, the TV was on.

One day we were pressed with a dilemma and it forced us to make a decision. The ending result? Sell our TV. It was absolutely pointless to keep something that we didn’t necessarily benefit from.

Since ridding our TV, my family has picked up so many healthy habits. We meditate more often, spend more quality time with our daughter, GO OUTSIDE DAILY (just to enjoy the fresh air), have more happy conversations and sleep so much better.

Granted, we still own a computer and an older model TV for our LO (but it only plays DVDs). This has given us the freedom to watch whatever we want versus whatever is thrown at us on TV.

While this decision may not be for everyone, I challenge you to turn off the TV for a few hours during the day. If you try it, let me know about your experience.  Smiles and hugs!

-bzm

About blackzenmama

I'm a proud zen mama with an insatiable taste for journaling, comfy clothes, triphop music and Mexican food. Currently awaiting the arrival of my second child (due late July 2014). Smiles & hugs!
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

