Simple Living: 3 Tips to Get You There (and STAY there)

Photo Credit: Google Images

Photo Credit: Google Images

Simplicity equals sanity. This statement has become one of my life mantras. My husband and I created a family of four in two years and collected a lot of junk within these years. Living simple has definitely helped me live sane in such a chaotic world and home.

Let’s be completely honest. We tend to spend a lot of money on things we really don’t need. Media has formed a culture that requires you to buy, buy and buy some more. I can recall on many occasions spending my hard earned cash on items that only ended up collecting dust in a month’s time. I considered myself a minimalist until I met my husband. Throughout our marriage I’ve learned tons on simplicity. Now that we have two kids I’ve used the same techniques for creating a more balanced and peaceful home. Think it can’t be done, think again.

 Tip one: Detach from your possessions. Buddha had an interesting quote that says “You only lose what you cling to.” This is a powerful statement because the truth is your things will get lost, destroyed, decay, etc. Stop clinging to your possessions allowing them to determine your happiness. You’ll only be disappointed in the end. Trust me on this one.

Tip two: If you possess an item that you seriously don’t use, don’t keep it. (this excludes memorabilia items such as letters, postcards, etc). Really think about the last time you utilized an item in your home that’s taking up space. Been more than a year? Toss it. Bless someone else with it because that item served its purpose for you a long time ago.

Tip three: Consider the essentials. No more buying multiples of things that aren’t essential to living. Ask yourself: do I really need a TV in every room of the house? Do we really need two toaster ovens?

What are the reasons you think we attach to our possessions? Comment below. I would love to hear your thoughts.

-bzm

About blackzenmama

I'm a proud zen mama with an insatiable taste for journaling, comfy clothes, triphop music and Mexican food. Currently awaiting the arrival of my second child (due late July 2014). Smiles & hugs!
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Living: 3 Tips to Get You There (and STAY there)

  1. I wish my wife would read this! Maybe I’ll share it with her…I call her a baby hoarder! Who the eff needs 8 wooden spoons?!?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

