Momspiration: Author Joi Miner {Vices Cover Reveal}

I’ve been blessed to meet so many inspirational women in my life. Moms that take care of their families and are entrepreneurs as well truly motivate me to never stop dreaming. I’m passing on the inspiration in hopes that it will offer encouragement to you and ultimately bring some light into your life.

My first ‘Momspiration’ interview comes from Joi Miner. Joi is a working mom, wife, full-time student, owner of Poetic Advisory LLC and a published author! I’m totally excited because she has allowed BlackZenMama™ to reveal the cover of her first fiction novel entitled, ‘Vices’.  Keep reading to find out more about Joi and her upcoming project!

Published Author Joi Miner

Published Author Joi Miner

BZM: You’re a working mom, wife and [full-time] student. What’s your most favorite thing to do for yourself?

Joi: I love to read and write; they are the ultimate escape. Writing gives you that release from all of the pinned up stress and frustration that we supermoms often bottle up. Reading allows you to escape your reality, even if just for a little while. You can be somewhere and someone else; it makes reality bearable.

BZM: When did you know that you were destined to be a writer?

Joi: I have always loved to write, but I think I realized I was meant to do more with my writing when I started to get paid to write poems for my classmates in middle and high school. My high school Creative Writing teacher once accused me of plagiarism because she claimed that my writing was too good to have been written by a senior. I took her accusation as motivation and dedicated my first poetry collection to her.

BZM: What was the best advice you have received as a writer?

Joi: The best writing advice that I have ever received was to never take writing advice. Everyone is different; no one can tell you how to be your most original self.

BZM: You recently finished writing your first [erotic] fiction novel! Yay!! Tell us a little about your book. 

Vices is an erotic drama. The main character, Bonnie Jones, takes you along her journey to rediscovering herself after leaving an abusive marriage. You witness her get into some very interesting fixes, get her heart broken, and find herself massaging away the pain and case of the “lonelies”with her vice of choice, sex.

Vices is what I like to call “autobiographical fiction.” It’s my life with a little bit extra thrown into it. It’s a very raw story, but I feel like it’s relatable. We all have been where Bonnie is or know someone who has.

It’s my first novel and was picked up for publication by Nayberry Publications. It’s set to be released on October 31st of this year, my 33rd birthday. (Gasp, I just told you my age)

BZM: Nice! I know you to be an excellent writer, poet and friend. Tell me something I don’t know about you. 

Joi: I would say that I’m a geek. A Star Wars fanatic, science loving, nerdy laughing goofball of a geek. (Oh well, now the secret’s out lol)

BZM: What advice can you give other mamas that have a dream that they want to make reality?

Joi: Don’t quit. Being a mommy causes us to put ourselves, our appearance, and our dreams and desires on the backburner. But you have to keep something for yourself or you will lose who y0u are and you won’t be any good to anyone. If you want to write a cookbook, write a blog, design clothes, paint, sing, dance, whatever, find the time to do it. Steal a few moments and do something just for you.

It may take longer than others (it took me 8 years to finish Vices) but you will get it done. We are all given superpowers when we become mothers, one of them is the ability to stretch time or create it where it otherwise may not exist. Use your powers for you, just like you do your little ones.

BZM: How can others reach you and learn more about your upcoming project (Twitter, Facebook ,etc)?

Official website: http://www.joiminer.com

Instagram: @joihen

Twitter: @joiminer

Facebook Fanpage: http://www.facebook.com/joiminer2

Personal Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/joiminer

Also visit my publisher, Nayberry Publications’ website and Facebook page:

http://www.nayberrypublications.com

https://www.facebook.com/nayberrypublications

 

Vices will be available October 31, 2014 on Amazon, Joiminer.com and NayberryPublications.com. Preorders are available as of today! If you are interested in preordering ‘Vices’ please comment below so that the link can be provided. 🙂 

About blackzenmama

I'm a proud zen mama with an insatiable taste for journaling, comfy clothes, triphop music and Mexican food. Currently awaiting the arrival of my second child (due late July 2014). Smiles & hugs!
This entry was posted in momspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

