What Mama Cookin: Easy Butternut Squash Soup

One of my favorite things about the Fall season are the chilly nights outside. Sitting on the front porch wrapped in a cozy blanket with a cup of hot cocoa is my idea of a dream “mini getaway”. I’ve been so excited to try some new Fall themed recipes and this one is sure not to disappoint you!

This butternut squash soup is super easy to make because it doesn’t require that many ingredients and it’s so delicious. You’ll love it! The original recipe comes from the blog “My Cooking Hut” and I will post the link below so that you can check out their awesome site. (:

What You Will Need:

– 1 butternut squash

– 1 white onion, chopped (I used pre-cut onions from the grocery store to save time)

– 2 medium russet potatoes

– 2 tbsp of olive oil (I used canola oil)

– 1 litre of vegetable stock

– salt and pepper

 Instructions:

– Peel butternut squash and potatoes with vegetable peeler or a really sharp knife

* I didn’t have a veggie peeler and my knives didn’t meet the requirements for this job so instead I cut my squash in half, placed in a baking pan with a little water and roasted it in the oven for about 15 minutes. The skin peeled right off! 

– Chop butternut squash, onion and potatoes into cubes

– Heat up a large pot or skillet with oil of your choice. Add in onions and cook until soft.

– Add in chopped squash and potatoes. Cook for about a minute, stirring vegetables occasionally.

– Add in vegetable stock and simmer for 30 minutes.

– Transfer vegetables from pot to blender and puree until smooth.

– Season with salt and pepper

As you can see from the picture above, I served my soup with wheat thin crackers and it made for the perfect combination-I highly recommend it! I will also add that my soup turned out a little thick but I prefer it this way so if you want to avoid thick soup add in water to help make it thinner. Check out the original recipe here.

Want more soup meal ideas? Then check out my Pinterest board on all things soups and stews. Smiles and hugs!

-bzm

About blackzenmama

I'm a proud zen mama with an insatiable taste for journaling, comfy clothes, triphop music and Mexican food. Currently awaiting the arrival of my second child (due late July 2014). Smiles & hugs!
This entry was posted in food, health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

